The Hobbit Finally Came Out!

So, we just got back from watching the Hobbit, part one, the Unexpected Journey.  I enjoyed it, even if I did need to use the restroom pretty badly afterwards.  But then again, the movie was over three hours, so what did I expect?  That, in fact, was why I got popcorn, but no drink.

Anyway, after reading the book first, I can definitely see what they did differently.  Except that it’s been a while since I read it, so I don’t remember when everything happened very well.  Throughout the whole thing, I was thinking, Oh, I remember that part!  Then, this comes next and…  Oh wait.  That’s not what they’re doing…  Right.  That part comes later.  By the middle of the movie, I had to try to convince myself not to try to piece the story back together, and just watch it.

I enjoyed it, however.  It was pretty good.  I also liked the face that Bilbo was played by the same guy who played Watson in the television series Sherlock.  Has anyone else seen that?  It was really really good, and I’m looking forward to the newest season.

The interesting thing I noticed was that the theater was mostly empty.  I guess there aren’t a lot of LOTR fans out where I live…

Have anything to share?

