The importance of having a good start (and how I need to take my own advice)

Today, as I said in my last post, is the first day of the mini-NaNo. We’ve probably all already set our goals, and calculated how much we need to write each day to get to our goal. In my case, I have to write approximately 968 words each day, to get to my goal of 30k. Shouldn’t be too hard, right?

As some of us have already discovered from the real NaNoWriMo, a good, strong start is important. Looking back at our word count for that day, on the very first day, kind of encourages us. Like, “Hey, I made it today! That means, I should be able to make it each day, ’til the end of the month, right?” If you’re editing, it’s the same way. “I got my first chapter edited, and I’m content with what I did. The rest of this shouldn’t be so hard.” Doing something good also shows that we’re dedicated.

Alright, but let’s say you haven’t gotten a good start. Like me. I’ve gotten maybe…. 190 something words in today, and it’s already 6pm. That’s really weak. So, what are you supposed to do?

Well, the first thing I would say to you, is get yourself off this blog and go write! (And that’s where I need to listen to myself… but instead, I just keep writing this post.) But, what if it is, say, time to sleep? I know my dad won’t let me stay up later than ten, just so I can write. I’m not allowed to stay up past ten for anything. Except maybe New Years, but that’s a little different.

So, obviously, you’ll have to write tomorrow. What I’d like to say here is, good luck! The problem with writing is that each of us have our ups and our downs. And, unfortunately, sometimes you can start off on a down. But remember that you will have your inspiration again. I know, the saying is “everything that goes up always comes down”, but sometimes, things can bounce.

Remember that. Keep on trying. Just because you did bad today, doesn’t mean you will do horrible tomorrow. So, keep on going!

And now, I am off to… help my brother with his laundry. And eat dinner. Then I’ll get back to writing. I swear.

2 thoughts on “The importance of having a good start (and how I need to take my own advice)

    1. Yeah… I really need to take my own advice, too. I only got about 200 words in yesterday. I’m hoping I can catch up today, however, and get at least a thousand. Silly writer’s block…

      Anyways, I wish you luck, and a better start than mine! 😀

Have anything to share?

