Procrastination, Motivation, and Inspiration—See a Pattern?

Procrastination. Sometimes, I wonder if it’s worse than writer’s block. Or maybe they’re connected. After all, often you procrastinate when you have writer’s block.

Today, I’ve done nothing but procrastinate. I’m supposed to be writing, and yet I can’t. I know what happens next, so that’s not what the problem is. I like my characters, so I shouldn’t be bored. I have setting and everything worked out, so it’s not a lack of details. I just…don’t want to write it.

And so what have I done most of today? I wrote the beginning of the outline for my Camp NaNoWriMo novel, which I don’t even need to worry about until July. Great. I know sometimes thinking ahead is good, but it’s May! I still have all of June!

Perhaps I’m just trying to keep July from turning out the same way April did…

Anyhow, I believe I’m going to use Erin’s brilliant idea to give me some motivation to keep writing. Because I’m fairly certain that’s all it is. I have no motivation. And not much inspiration, either, but you know what they say. Writing is 1% inspiration and 99% perspiration.

Hmm.

There really is a pattern there. Procrastination, motivation, inspiration, perspiration. I think I need more -ation! Or maybe less of it…

Have anything to share?

