And Day Four…

Happy Independence Day, all! At least, to those Americans out there.

Today is the fourth day of Camp NaNo. And, of course, I haven’t written a single word…okay, that isn’t true. I’ve written about thirty words. Which is a pathetically small amount, I know. Hopefully I’ll get something done later…

Meanwhile, I’ve found some new music that I like to write to. I’ve always listened to the same thing—progressive rock. I know it’s not a “typical” thing for girls my age to listen to, but I grew up on it and I love it. Dream Theater and Riverside are both amazing.

Recently, I decided to listen to something different. I decided to try listening to Apocalyptica. I’ve only listened to a few songs, but I already like Ruska and Quutamo (how do you even pronounce that, anyway?).

6 thoughts on “And Day Four…

  1. Progress is progress. Just keep at it, and don’t get too distracted. 😉
    I like some progressive rock, too. Have you tried Anathema or 3? They’re two of my favorites.
    I’ve also heard of Apocalyptica. Not familiar with “Ruska” or “Quutamo,” but I love “Faraway” featuring Linda Stromvall (I think that’s her name?) and “S.O.S.” featuring Cristina Scabbia of Lacuna Coil. In case you’re looking for recommendations…

    1. The “not getting distracted” is the hard part, though. Lots of things to be distracted by, that’s for certain…

      I don’t believe I’ve heard of those, actually. I’ll be sure to look them up.

      I’ve heard the instrumental version of Faraway, and I really liked it. I’ll have to listen to the other one as well. Thanks! 🙂

  2. I tend to listen to videogame music a lot, for whatever reason. At the moment I’m mainly sticking to stuff from the trauma centre series; I’ll probably move on in about a week or so, knowing me.

    Thirty words are better than no words, right ;)? Besides, you’re still ahead by a very long way, from what I’ve read. Keep at it 🙂

    1. Video-game music? I should try that…. Anything you suggest in particular? I know sometimes I like to listen to movie soundtracks—mainly How to Train Your Dragon and Tron: Legacy.

      I suppose so. I only got 30 words yesterday and about 80 today. I am still a few thousand words ahead, though, so I guess it’s okay… I know that if I don’t get back into the game, however, I’ll end up getting behind. That’s the problem with being lazy because I’m ahead; I get *too* lazy, and then get behind.

      1. Not sure where to start, to be honest. The best individual soundtrack that I can think of is for the first Super Mario Galaxy games. Other favorites include Final Fantasy 6 and up, Zelda (particularly Majora’s Mask), Metroid Prime and, of course, Trauma Center.

        The HTTYD soundtrack is simply beautiful; I’m particularly fond of Forbidden Friendship.

        I’m sure you’ll get back into the swing of writing before long. We all have our off days, after all.

        1. I’ll have to look into those. I know I like the Zelda music for…. I think I have Phantom Hourglass and Twilight Princess. They’re quite nice.

          Yes! I absolutely love Forbidden Friendship. Another good one is the Downed Dragon.

          I hope this is just an off day….

Have anything to share?

