Day Eight: Better…?

I switched projects. Naughty of me, I know. What makes it worse is that even though I’m competing in Camp NaNo, I’m not trying to write a novel anymore. At this point, I don’t care what my total word-count is. All I care is that I write something every day, until the end of the month (at which point I’ll go to editing the project I really want to work on).

So, yesterday I wrote…roughly two thousand words, I think. I forgot to check the actual amount. Today I’ve gotten in a few hundred, but today’s also been pretty busy. We’re going on vacation tomorrow (which means I’ll be gone until the 12th) so there’s lots of packing and such going on today.

Nonetheless, I’m satisfied with where I’m going. My average per day is roughly fifteen hundred, which is pretty good, if I do say so myself.

And so, signing off for a few days…
~ Ally

2 thoughts on “Day Eight: Better…?

  1. Honestly, I think that fifteen hundred is a marvelous average. It’s certainly a lot better than most people manage 🙂

    Also, I fully agree with writing something on each day is far more important than sticking to any one project. The trick with writing seems to be to keep the momentum going; if a project has bogged down, then moving over to a different one is the surest way to keep moving.

    What kind of thing are you doing now, out of interest? Are you working on a short story?

    1. Fifteen hundred is definitely pretty good, and I’m happy with it.

      Exactly. If you lose that momentum, it’s hard to get started again. Really hard, sometimes.

      Nah… I’m not very good with short stories, for some reason. >.< I tend to stick with novels—so I'm finishing one I started back in May. Mostly. Sometimes I end up writing something else random instead.

Have anything to share?

