The Middle….Ugh.

Right now, I find myself facing the middle of my novel. I think this is the spot where I shift from my villain going after the main characters to the main characters going after the villain. Problem is, I just swept out my villain’s motivation from under her feet. All of a sudden, she’s got nothing to do….and no reason to do anything.

Hmm. I have plenty for my main characters to do, but I’m not sure I can really let them do anything until my villain starts doing something again, but even if I find something for her to do, she has no motivation for anything anymore! She’s useless!

This is one of those problems, I think, where outlininers tell discovery-writers, “This is why I outline. So I don’t run into plot holes like that.” And it’s true. If I had fully outlined, (instead of just outlining the first two chapters), then I wouldn’t be having this problem. Things probably would have turned out far different, so there wouldn’t be a plot hole. Hmm.

But, I didn’t outline. I’m a seat-of-your-pants writer and I did that—pantsed. And so here I am, facing that ginormous plot hole in the wall. Or ceiling. Or both.

At the moment, the only thing I can think of to solve this is to bring in another villain, to steal the show for a little until my main villain can pull herself back together. Problem is, I’m not very good at creating villains… They’re always hard. I love writing them, but creating them always seems to be a pain.

Well. Guess I’ll have to figure something out. Especially since I didn’t get a chance to write anything yesterday, so I’m going to end up falling behind if I don’t write.

14 thoughts on “The Middle….Ugh.

  1. Outlining stories huh? Well I certainly only manage outlining a couple of chapters as well (if not none), then I get too excited and start writing. Then I land in a plot hole. And then I write stuff that doesn’t make sense. Then… I get editor’s block,

    Anyway, yes, I think you should could create another villain, or even just another character to get your MC’s distracted for a bit, and then when your main villain is ready, she can be in the limelight again.

    1. Exactly! I don’t think I’ve run into editors block all that often, but the rest of it—yes!

      Yeah, that’s what I was thinking. I’ve already got a bit of an idea for a new villain, so I just need to sit down and write it….

  2. I don’t know your villain has been doing to your main characters, but maybe that villain doesn’t need a motivation for a while. If your characters have been put through enough, then maybe some (or even all) of them could go after that villain out of desire for revenge alone. Hardly a heroic thing to do, but certainly plausible.

    I’m not sure if that would work or not for your story, but those are just my thoughts on the matter 🙂

Have anything to share?

