Post-Camp NaNo

So, now that Camp NaNo is over, I no longer have to force myself to write every single day, so that I can make my goal.

Yet, I’m not taking a break.  Apparently, I’m now taking more onto myself than I had before, which might not be the wisest thing to do…  Anyway, the story I was working on for July is definitely not finished, but my word-count is just shy of 50,000 words.  In fact, despite that I was having a little trouble writing at the end of camp there, I’m really enjoying writing this story.  All of my characters, villains included, are fun to write, and the plot is proving to be interesting, as well.

I’m definitely going to keep writing it.  At the same time, though, I’ve been waiting since May to get back to editing my other novel, which I’ve been excited to get back to since I finished the last draft.

Hmm.  Now I have two projects.  What’s worse, the second project is actually two parts—writing and editing.  One PoV character’s side of the story is….horrible and I’ve decided to rewrite it, giving the character a new personality while I’m at it.  But the other PoV character’s story is mostly finished; she just needs a bit of touch up, mix a few scenes around, and voila!  I’m finished with that part.

Great.  So, in other words, now I’m writing two stories and editing a third.  It’s a good thing I don’t have time-limits for any of these, because there’s no way I can get that much done that quickly with my attention this divided.

I’m thinking, because this is probably a bad idea, I might take a break from my camp novel and work on that one in September or October.  After all, I do need to have something to work on before I start my really big project for the official NaNoWriMo in November.

I really am making myself busy, aren’t I?  I just hope I don’t end up regretting it…

14 thoughts on “Post-Camp NaNo

  1. Very busy indeed. 😀 I’m sure you’ll be able to do it though.
    Yes, writing and editing put together is a nightmare. The end result for me is procrastinating on the NaNo forums. *facepalm*
    Good luck!

      1. Kate is

        I like the challenge of the edit but the creativity of writing, so I think your idea of doing one of each at the same time is a great balance.

Have anything to share?

