Change of Project….Again.

So, after my last few posts being about the possibility of publication and then critiques, I now find myself….unable to write. Every time I sit down in front of my word document, I can’t seem to get inside of my protagonist’s thoughts anymore, and anything I do manage to write sounds ridiculous and poorly-written. So for about a week, my daily word-count was anywhere from 500 words to absolutely nothing. For someone who usually writes 2,000 words a day, this was more than just a little frustrating.

For a little while, I tried to write a short story, just to get me writing something, but….my ideas seemed to have disappeared. I couldn’t think of anything to write about. And when I finally did come up with something, it all seemed highly ridiculous.

Then it occurred to me—oh, wait a minute, I still have to finish the novel I was working on for Camp NaNo. I may have just written the midpoint at 50k, which probably isn’t the best place of a midpoint to be in a YA fantasy novel, but still. That novel still needs to be finished.

So, I guess this is my way of saying I’ve switched projects again. I’m still a little disappointed about not being able to work on the other one, especially after spending several months looking forward to going back to it, but I’m content with this other one and I would like to finish it as well.

9 thoughts on “Change of Project….Again.

  1. Ah yes, it’s what life and writing throws at us ever so often isn’t it? It makes us switch from one project to another… Sometimes the end result turns out pretty good-other times it doesn’t. I sincerely hope your new project turns out well, and don’t worry! You’re not the only one who can only seem to stare at an empty word doc. at the moment. 😀

  2. “Go not to the elves for counsel, for they answer both no and yes.” Go not to Liam for counsel, because he will tell you to both stick with the project you’re working on even when it’s tough, and go with what you’re most excited about at the moment. It’s important to finish what you start, but it’s also important to like what you’re doing.

    1. Well, yes, I agree, it is definitely important to finish what I’ve started. However, both of these projects were already started, so it makes more sense for me to finish the one I’m more excited for, first, I think…

  3. If it’s any consolation, I’m up to 46k on my big WIP and am only just over a third of the way through. Granted, I have at least 12k of that earmarked for removal, but still.

    I’d say you made the right call, personally: if you’re not feeling enthused about your original project then you’re unlikely to produce your best work for it. Maybe you’ll have a brainwave on it while you’re working on your Nano piece 🙂

    1. Hehe, when I first started this project, I didn’t expect it to be anything more than 50k, so it was a bit of a surprise when I reached that mark and realized I’m most definitely not near the ending. There’s nothing wrong with that, though, I think.

      Yes, I agree, and I sure hope it turns out that way. 🙂

      Thanks for commenting!

Have anything to share?

