Dialogue, Word-count Goals, and Unimaginative Blog Post Titles

So. Like my last post said, I’m doing quite nicely with my writing/editing. My cousins have been over for the past week, and you’d think that’d mean I wouldn’t have time for writing, but to be frank, I used it as an excuse to write more. Those particular cousins are very noisy and I have a tendency to get stressed out when there’s a lot of noise indoors. In other words, I spent most of the week cuddled up in a corner with my headphones and just wrote.

It was quite productive and an excellent escape of noise and stress.

The best part is, I finally figured out what my issue is with my dialogue. If you were to read any of my writing—at least, the recent stuff—you’d probably notice that there’s a lot of dialogue and not as much else as there could be. I always thought it was that I had too much dialogue. Something was wrong, something didn’t flow quite right, and I thought it was the dialogue. My mother told me that it was fine, but I couldn’t figure out what the problem was.

The problem is that I’m not having things with the dialogue. As soon as a character starts talking, I forget to mention what they’re doing. As far as my dialogue goes, a character could be strolling along the sidewalk, about to go shopping, but as soon as he opens his mouth, he’s not walking or doing anything. He might be frowning a bit or smiling or something, but otherwise he’s rather impassive.

Now that I’ve noticed this problem, it’s so obvious, and I’m wondering how I ever managed to make the mistake. At least I can fix it though, right? I’m sure there are other little quirks and things that I need to correct still, but I think this was major issue and was really bringing my confidence in writing down.

Meanwhile, I’m really starting to get anxious for NaNoWriMo this up and coming month. I can’t remember if I mentioned it before, but I’ll be writing a sequel for November, which is a completely new thing for me. I’ve never written sequels before.

I went through the Word-Count Goal Calculator and it set me a goal of ~73k. That…seems a like a lot, but it’s possible I can make it. I wrote roughly 60k in a month before, so if I try a little harder, I think I might be able to make it to at least 70. I know at the beginning of the year, I was hoping to try for 75, then wasn’t so sure when the school year started.

I’ve noticed, after timing myself and going through several different Word Wars, that I write, on average, about 100-150 words every five minutes. If I could figure out how much time per day, approximately, I have to write, then I could figure out a goal myself (though, that’s probably how that calculator works), but the problem is that I honestly have no clue how much free time I’ll have in November. I estimated about an hour and a half from the amount of time I had in September, but who knows if that’ll stay up until the end of next month.

So the moral of this post is: don’t forget to pay attention while you’re talking.

Or something like that.

16 thoughts on “Dialogue, Word-count Goals, and Unimaginative Blog Post Titles

        1. I am a pantser. I tried planning for Camp NaNo, and my outline went totally out the window and I pantsed the rest. I might do a little planning right before November starts, but mostly just brainstorming for ideas of where to go and writing them down somewhere, nothing more.

          You?

        2. I’m a pantser, obviously, but I like to pretend I’m a planner, so I’m more of a plantser. I have an idea of the concept I want to use, but no plot as yet– I’ll figure that out on October 29th.

        3. It was originally coined by the Go Teen Writers people.

          For my first NaNoWriMo, I didn’t know what I was going to write until the day before. And that remains my favorite of all my novels.

        4. Ah.

          For my first NaNo, I didn’t know what I was going to write until day 6. That novel didn’t turn out very well; in fact, the best thing about it was that it was the first thing I’d started and finished in the past year.

        5. My problem was, surprisingly, not that I couldn’t stick with one project. It was that I was being a perfectionist with one project and kept starting over every time something didn’t work out just perfectly. Thankfully, I’ve gotten over that…

Have anything to share?

