NaNoWriMo Day 25: Oh Boy…

I have to admit something.  I am a NaNoRebel.

How so?  Well, originally, I was supposed to be writing a prequel, and I was going to follow all of the rules.  But then I got so bored and frustrated (Week Two Blues to the extreme, apparently) and I gave up.  Terrible, I know, right?

So, there it is.  My terrible, horrible secret.  Instead of writing a novel, I wrote 20k in one novel, wrote a 37-chapter outline all the way to the end (which I have never done before), and then wrote another 12k for the story I wrote the outline for.

A part of me feels guilty about it, but at the same time, I don’t think I should feel guilty.  NaNoWriMo is about writing a novel in a month, right?   But it’s also about giving people the motivation to write a novel in a month.  So, okay, maybe I didn’t write a full novel.  I didn’t even write on one novel.

However, I did write.  After a month of not having the motivation to write, I finally did write.  So, okay, maybe I’m screwing around with the rules here, but I still got somewhere and I’m happy about it.

Plus, I got my little siblings to join with me, and they’re following the rules completely.  My eight year old sister just got to her goal this morning on the YWP site (as well as finished the story), so she’s very excited.  My brothers are still a ways from their goals, though, so that might not work out the greatest.

Have anything to share?

