Getting Back Into Writing…

It’s been a little over two weeks since I decided to stop writing.  And… it’s worked.  I’ll admit, I haven’t really stopped writing; I’ve just stopped forcing myself to write.  If I was inspired for something, I wrote it down.  Otherwise, I didn’t do anything related to writing.

A part of me feels slightly guilty about not writing every day, but, overall, I feel a lot better.  Two of my stories still have frustrating elements to them (mostly, plot holes), so they’re pushed onto the back-burner, to be dealt with later.  For now, I’m working on a story that really is being made up in my head as I’m writing it—but I’m rather inspired to write it, so that’s good.  I think.

Meanwhile, I’ve decided to branch away from my normal fantasy in my reading list, and so currently, my mom and I are reading the complete Sherlock Holmes by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle.  I’ll admit, the biggest (only) reason I’m reading that is because I’m a big fan of BBC’s TV show, Sherlock.  Still, three chapters into the first book, A Study in Scarlett, I’m definitely intrigued and going to read more.

9 thoughts on “Getting Back Into Writing…

  1. Yay Shim!
    Ah Sherlock Holmes! I love the stories, it’s just too bad I’ve read all that my library has. *sighs* I should really find an ebook version or something- they are indeed really good. I haven’t seen the TV show, but I’m thinking I should. 😀

  2. Awesome! I must say, I admire how much you write, even if it’s not every day anymore. I haven’t written anything by choice since some time in December. I’m never inspired.

    1. Oh, thank you. Usually, writing is my favorite thing to do, so I try to do it all of the time.

      Yeah? I haven’t had much inspiration much lately, either. Actually, the first bit of real inspiration I’ve had since October was… last week. Now I’m on a roll, and I’ve written about 6k in the past two days. I hope you find some inspiration! Sometimes it takes a little digging (and a lot of frustration) to find. 🙂

Have anything to share?

