Pre-Camp NaNo Writing?

Well.  Camp starts in…four days?  Something like that.  I’m too tired do any math right now.  Anyhow, it’s going pretty much how my previous two attempts at camp have worked out.  And that means, I couldn’t wait for the first; I started working now.  Now actually meaning Tuesday.

As I mentioned in my last post, I’m going to be a rebel.  I’m trying to finish the rewrite of my WIP from last Camp, and I’m going to try to write about 10 – 15k.  But I’m also, on top of that, trying to squeeze a little editing in and some more in-depth character development.  (It’s all for the same project, though, in case you’re wondering.  Yeah, I’m all over the place.)  So, Tuesday night I screwed around with some Scrivener templates, then finished editing the second chapter of my WIP, and today, I finished the first half of chapter three.  I’m thinking if I keep going at a decent pace, I’ll actually be finished with the editing by April 1st, and I can start writing chapter five.

Okay.  Now I’m wondering about the question, too.  Why am I editing when I haven’t even written chapter five yet?  Well…it was bugging me.  I realized that I had a bit of a plot hole; two events that were supposed to be happening simultaneously were at two completely different times of day.  One was in the morning, one was at twilight.  Right.  I’m pretty sure both were supposed to be happening in the same part of the same country, so it’s not as if one was on the other side of the planet.  That, and chapter three had waaayyy too much unnecessary dialogue and that annoyed me.

Okay, so maybe that isn’t the brightest thing to do, but I feel a lot better for having fixed some of that stuff.

So, all in all, I’m feeling pretty good about my writing and about Camp now.  The trick will be to actually stick with the project all the way through the month, and not jump to something else after the first two weeks, like what seems to be my habit.

Now I’m curious.  Does anybody else do that with their writing?  I can never stick fully to a project, without any distractions, for any longer than a few weeks.

10 thoughts on “Pre-Camp NaNo Writing?

  1. Renn.

    Haha… that sounds about what I have been doing. I got this giant notebook out one night and said “I’m going to figure out all the dates right now.” Well, I figured out two timelineish things for only two of the characters. Not exactly what I was hoping for….

    Anyways, good luck at Camp!

  2. Hehe, yes. Maybe that’s part of the reason I can never focus on anything and write, and lose all my motivation at the same time, while my brain’s bursting with inspiration and ideas all over the place? Whoops… gah, I’m not even sure if I’ll manage 5k this month… Anyway good luck! 🙂

      1. Thank you! I doubt I’ll actually write anything though. 😀

        *wonders if everything is okay and why you aren’t replying to my other email…* But what can I say? Hehe, your not the one who always takes three weeks. *facepalm* Sorry.

        1. Heh. I’ll have things for you to read, though. I’m editing chapter three for Azeth’s story, and……I’m actually rewriting it, more like. WAY more exciting, I think.

          Eh, sorry. Lazyness. >_<

  3. Sorry if there are typos. I’m writing this on my phone. 🙂
    I don’t have a hard time sticking to a project. It’s exactly the opposite. I cannot move on from a project after it is done. I guess that’s why I write series. I get to stay with my characters more often!!

Have anything to share?

