Two Birds With One Stone (I got an award!)

Oooohhhhkkkkaaayyy… I got a Liebster award. It feels kind of odd, since it’s been so long since I’ve had one, but I’m not technically at 200 followers, so I am still eligible. I considered not doing it, since I’ve done so many, but… eh, why not? If nothing else, then just for old time’s sake. (Right, Kiwi?)  And then, the best part, I got a second one.  So I’m going to combine it into just one post…but I’ll accept both, just ’cause.

I can hardly remember the rules, so I’ll just steal them from Robyn.

Thank and link back to the person who nominated you.
List 11 facts about yourself.
Answer the 11 questions asked by the blogger who nominated you.
Nominate 9 bloggers who have fewer than 200 followers.
Ask them 11 questions.
Let them know about the nomination.

Okay.  First person to nominate me was Isa.  Thank you, Isa!  I forgot how much fun these things can be.  Second person to nominate me was Robyn.  Thank you, Robyn!

Eleven Boring Facts About Me:

  1. I sat here staring at this thing for a good sixty seconds before I could think of a way to start this thing.
  2. I often feel like the strangest person on the planet.  Why?  Because I have not yet met a single person (besides my dad, but he doesn’t count) who has similar music tastes as me.
  3. For the past week, I’ve listened to the same song over and over again… More specifically, the same sixty seconds of the song, over and over.  I have no clue why.  Probably because it sounds awesome.  Or maybe ’cause I was bored.  I’m not really sure.
  4. I ramble a lot.  If you haven’t picked up on this so far, I don’t know what you’ve been reading, but it probably wasn’t anything I’ve said.
  5. I like to call my sense of humor sarcastic.
  6. But that’s not really true.  I’m more snarky and sardonic than truly sarcastic.  Unfortunately.
  7. My best truly sarcastic and witty comments always come after I could have used them.  It’s very annoying.  And sometimes, it makes me a bit of a boring conversationalist.
  8. I have bad self-esteem issues, and I’m almost always calling myself boring or something.  I probably shouldn’t do this, but I can’t seem to stop.
  9. When I was a little kid, I very strongly disliked the number nine.  I think it had something to do with the fact that in third grade, our school assigned each student a number, and I didn’t much like the kid who had the number nine.  Unfortunately, later that year, I turned nine years old.  Life is cruel.
  10. My favorite number is 583.  I have no clue why, but it’s been that way for…almost two years now?  That feels like a very long time.
  11. It took me even longer to figure out what to say here than it did for me to figure out how to say the first fact.

Now, to answer the questions… since this is two awards in one, there’s actually 22 questions, but I’ll break them up into two sets of eleven.  Y’know, to continue with the 11 pattern.

Questions from Isa:

1) Favorite Movie?
I don’t really have one, to be honest.  There’s a lot of movies I like, but none stand out in particular.  At least, as of this moment.

2) Favorite Quote?
Either “I didn’t know what or when, but I knew I’d know it when I knew it!” from Avatar: The Last Airbender, or ” ‘No more rhymes now, I mean it!’ ‘Anybody want a peanut?’ ” from Princess Bride.  I love movie (and TV) quotes, in case that didn’t clue you in.

3) Pancakes or Waffles?
Waffles. I like both, but I’m a little odd… I don’t much like syrup. So I eat pancakes dry, with no syrup, and it causes them to get a little boring a little quickly. But I eat peanut butter on my waffles, which means, I have to have syrup with it so that the two flavors can balance each other out. Why don’t I put peanut butter on pancakes, I dunno. But, yeah, waffles.

4) A song that pretty much sums up yourself?
One song?  Hmm.  I want to say “I am the Doctor” by Murray Gold, but unfortunately, even if I have Ten’s sonic screwdriver and Four’s scarf, that’s not really the case.  So, instead, I guess I’d say… gosh, this is hard.  I don’t know.  I’m just going to say “False Awakening Suite” by Dream Theater, because it’s instrumental and sounds awesome.

5) Bucket List?
I sat here for a while trying to figure out what’s on my bucket list, and I’m still not even sure.  Be a better person, I guess, and write something I can be proud of… That’s a very boring bucket list.  Somebody dumped my bucket upside down and spilled it, I think.

6) How old is your blog?
Eh…roughly a year and a half? I think I started it in December ’12. Right before the world was supposed to end.

7) Do you play an instrument?
I used to play the flute, years and years ago. I also own a guitar and I’ve taken a few lessons for the piano. As of this very moment, though, I don’t play any.

8) Favorite Word?
A single favorite word? Oh boy, that’s hard. Probably fiddlesticks. Or preposterous. Or horrendous. Nah, probably preposterous. I love saying that word.

9) If you were to make something that could make the world a better place, what would it be?
To be completely honest, I…have absolutely no clue.

10) Favorite show?
Doctor Who? Or BBC Sherlock. Or Warehouse 13. Or…nah, probably Doctor Who. That show is fun.

11) Any advice for people, anywhere, doing anything?
Smile.  It’s good for you.  Maybe it doesn’t always make life better, but it can make someone’s day better.  And laughter is supposed to be healthy.

Questions from Robyn:

1. Do you prefer Winter or Summer?
Winter.  Summer is boring.  Then again, so is winter half the time, since we barely get any rain, let alone snow, but… still.

2. What is your favorite section of the bookstore?
The most bookish section.  Hehe, well, the genre I read most is middle-grade and/or YA fantasy, so probably there.

3. What is the most interesting non-fiction book you’ve read?
Mmm… I’d say, probably Helen Keller’s autobiography.

4. What is the best writing prompt you’ve ever used?
I honestly have no clue.

5. The farthest you’ve ever been from home (you don’t have to say where you live)?
I just came home from Arkansas, so, there.

6.  What do you do to keep yourself from being bored on long car trips?
I read and write.  I also usually have my iPod with me, so sometimes I just listen to music and stare out the window.

7. If you could go back in time, what time would you visit and why?
Either medieval England, so that I could do some research first-hand, or England during the Victorian era, because it’s cool.  And also for first-hand research.  (Mmm…lots of England.)

8. On that note, would you consider yourself a Whovian? If so, favorite episode of Doctor Who?
Yes, I am definitely a Whovian.  I’m not sure I have a favorite episode, though.  “Blink” was good.  I enjoyed any episode (of the newer seasons) with the Master in it.  He was a fun villain.  I also liked “The Pandorica”, and “Let’s Kill Hitler” (I’m pretty sure that’s the name of it…).  I guess my favorites would be “Blink” and “Let’s Kill Hitler”.

9. Favorite board game? Least favorite?
Favorite?  I’m not sure.  Least favorite, either Risk or Monopoly.  Probably Monopoly, because my dislike of Risk comes from my brother repeatedly asking us to play it with him when we don’t want to, not from a dislike of the game itself.  Really, I don’t even know how to play Risk.

10. What is the longest book you’ve ever read and about how many pages long was it?
Probably Words of Radiance.  I read an e-book verison of it, so I don’t know exactly how many pages there were, but I know it was more than the prequel, Way of Kings, and that one was over a thousand pages.

11. Which famous author (living or dead) would you want to read your books and give you feedback?
Brandon Sanderson, definitely.  I’d be kind of terrified, as well as excited, to get the feedback, though.  No, forget the “kind of” part.  I’d definitely be terrified.

Nominees to Torture:

Okay, it says nine people, but I really don’t know of nine who fit into the criteria for less than 200 followers and who’d be willing to do an award.  So I’m going to go the boring route and say, if anybody wants the award, you can have it.

Except… I’ll nominate one person, purely for old time’s sake.  Sorry, Kiwi, but here, have an award.  Hopefully this won’t start a big train like last time.

Questions from Me:

  1. Do you have an all-time favorite character (from book or movie/TV show)?
  2. If so, who is it?  If not, list your top five favorite characters.
  3. Do you have a pet-peeve about what other people do with their writing?  (Disorganization, missing commas that should be obvious, etc.)  Or am I the only person who has these?
  4. What was the last book you read?
  5. Did you enjoy it?
  6. Do you like the number six?
  7. Have you ever had someone like a post you posted about a second after you posted it, meaning there is no way they read anything you wrote?
  8. Are there any words you use an awful lot?  Maybe even excessively?
  9. Which do you prefer, sunrise or sunset?
  10. To sort-of copy a question from Robyn’s award, is your handwriting legible?
  11. On a scale of one to ten, how boring were these questions?  (One being the most boring things you’ve ever read, and ten being only moderately boring.)
10 thoughts on “Two Birds With One Stone (I got an award!)

  1. Great answers!
    Yes. Blink is a great episode.
    I considered Brandon Sanderson for who I’d like to give me feedback, too. But I have trouble getting feedback from normal betas, much less famous ones.

    1. Humor? What humor? I made like maybe two jokes…

      I listen to progressive rock. I’ve found people who listen to classic rock, but nobody seem listens to, or have even heard of sometimes, progressive.

  2. You’re welcome! I love your list of things about your self, especially 1 and 11, 😛 . I know what you mean by sarcastic humor, and witty comments. It happens to a lot of people, where they think of comebacks right after a conversation. It gets annoying, 🙂
    Life is indeed cruel.
    You’ve watched Avatar? *high fives* love that show.
    I don’t know why I haven’t seen this before, it didn’t come up on my Reader. I’ll try unfollowing and following you.

    1. Hehe, thank you.
      Yup! I think I’m a little bit better about coming up with responses quickly, but sometimes I do get strange looks and I’m pretty sure people can see how hard I try to be even a tiny bit witty… gah.
      Yup. So it is. At least I’m not nine anymore—and I don’t have a problem with the number, either. Much. It’s still not my favorite.
      Oh yes! I love Avatar.
      Huh…that’s odd. A few times, I’ve had WordPress make me unfollow somebody entirely without me realizing it, which was quite annoying.

Have anything to share?

