NaNoWriMo 2014: Conclusion

Well.  It’s…December 6th as I write this.  I probably should have written and posted this post a few days ago, but I guess I procrastinated.

Anyway!  NaNoWriMo 2014.  I won, with a total count of 100,016 words.

This year, I had two goals.  One was a word-count goal (which was 100k), and the other was to finish the novel.  I haven’t finished a novel since May of 2013, so I have really wanted to be able to finish a novel lately.  I made this second goal, however, so I am quite satisfied.

Unlike Miss Kiwi, with her 50k in the first week and a half, I wrote a lot slower.  No multiple days where I wrote 10k.  And by the end of the first week, I was at roughly 29k, though I did hit 50k by day 15.

That isn’t as big of a deal for me.  For me, I wrote every single day.  There were two or three days where I didn’t quite make a thousand words—only had about seven or eight hundred—but I wrote every day without fail.  That’s what was important to me.  That and the fact that I finished the novel.

I’m totally rambling here, but I guess I’m going to keep doing that.  Since I am finished, I won’t have to work on finishing it through the rest of December.  Instead, I get to face the terrifying beast of editing.

Well.  I’m actually going to put that off until January, to give myself some distance from the novel.  And then when I get back do it, I unfortunately have to work on filling in the rest of the gaps of my world-building (ha! And I thought I’d done enough world-building in October!) and straighten out not only my plot, but my character arcs.  Once I have that all sorted out, then I suppose I can edit.

Until then, for the rest of December, I’m not completely sure what I’ll be doing.  I think I’m going to try to finish that short story I was working on in October, or maybe I’ll write some more.  There’s also another novel I plan to outline.

I’m really rather excited.

 

37 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo 2014: Conclusion

  1. To be completely honest with you, I would have much rather been able to be consistent and write every day. I suppose I didn’t make that goal clear with myself, so that’s something I need to do next year, and not just for NaNo, either.

    You should be really rather excited, because you know what? I AM TOO. 😀

      1. Mm, I know. The latter months of the year just seem really busy though, and at the moment I’m working hard on keeping up with other things, including German. Which really makes it sound like writing isn’t a priority, while it is. But, gah. I need to do some prioritizing, it seems. I don’t want to stop writing, I really enjoyed keeping up with the writing during November. Hmm… I think I either want to so something really well or a lot, or not at all. That’s my problem. Perhaps even just 1000 words or less a day, which isn’t actually too bad, although it seems like two Word Wars when you think of NaNo.

        Gah, I’m sorry for rambling.

        1. I understand how you feel… I guess you just need to do prioritizing, like you said. Also you really don’t have to do a lot of everything. I mean, you could write just 200 words everyday and only get 10 XP in German each day, and that’d still be terrific.

        2. *shakes head* At least you’ll catch up to me at that rate, though. So long as you stay consistent.
          I’m currently wondering how I’ll be able to keep up my streak over Christmas when we’ll be on vacation and most likely won’t have connection to the internet…

      1. Peace

        NO. You have to traditionally publish in 2015 and then your novel will be super popular and then while everyone at my school is fangirling/fanboying over your stuff, I can brag about how I knew you first and got to read more of your stuff than any of them. *nods*

        1. And about how you still know more about my stories than any other living person, and are reading them even before my alpha readers get to? (Since by that point, maybe I’ll actually have some alpha readers…)

          Hehe. I haven’t done all of my research yet, so it’s not official, but I’m starting to think that self-publishing might better fit what I want to do, rather than traditional publishing. At least, at first. And as for the year, I guess that depends on how well editing for Oracular goes next month.

        2. Peace

          Exactly. xD
          I hope so too. I’m pretty sure you will.

          As long as they’re published in some way relatively aoon, it’s fine. 😀

        3. Heh.
          Yeah…

          So if I “publish” them by writing them in my sloppy handwriting in a little book all together in order and everything, in, oh, ten years from now, since that’s soon relative to the end of the universe, then it’s all fine?

  2. Wings0813

    I did get to my 5th word count goal with was 8k words. My computer is also used by my parents so I didnt get to type too much. I was lucky if I even got 1k words per day…

Have anything to share?

