New Years, Anniversaries, and Stuff Like That

While most people are making posts about their “New Years Resolutions/Goals” and whatnot, I have something else to be excited about today—it’s the day I officially started writing.  December 31, 2010.  I’d been writing a little before that, but I’d never taken it seriously and I didn’t do it consistently.  But that one day, everything changed.  (And it didn’t include any attacks from the Fire Nation.  Err…never mind.)

So, New Years Eve is, for me, my writing anniversary.  This year, I’ve been writing for four years.  It seems kind of fitting for today to be the day I look back at what I’ve accomplished for the year, doesn’t it?

So.  The beginning of the year, was, well, uneventful.  I wrote, but I didn’t write anything memorable and I didn’t really make any progress in writing.  I hardly learned anything, I completed absolutely nothing, and my confidence suffered greatly.  My blog suffered, too, I think, because I mostly posted complaints about this.

In June and July, I took a break from blogging while I went on vacation with the family (and I got to see more of the US in those two weeks than I’ve seen in my entire life).  I participated in Camp NaNo in July.

In August, or thereabouts, I did the hardest thing I’ve ever done in my writing life, and I killed two of my favorite darlings.  The character that I’d started my writing off with four years ago, as well as her “partner-in-crime”, neither of whom had a real story, and because of that, when I tried to write them, I wrote a whole lot of nothing.  Giving them their “happily ever after” and saying goodbye to them was the best thing I’ve ever done for my writing, because it forced me to move forward, but also the hardest thing.

In September/October, I wrote a…I’m not even sure if it’s a short story or a novella.  It’s like right there in the middle between the two.  However, I think that that story might have been one of my best works, ever.

In November, I participated in NaNoWriMo, and I completed my first novel in a year and a half.  The novel has a lot of flaws and weak points, and probably more of those than strengths, but I’m confident that I can make it something to be proud of with a lot of editing.

So…looking back?  This year has been slow.  And it hasn’t been my best year.  I could have done a whole lot better.  But I think this is ending on a higher note than it started off with, so I’m content for now.  Even if I wasn’t content, though, I don’t exactly own a time machine to go fix the year with, anyway.

Now, as for next year.  Do I have writing goals?  Of course.

  • In January, I plan to start editing my NaNoNovel, Oracular, and this time, I want to actually finish the editing process.
  • I want to finish one of my other long-time novels, Half-Cursed, and possibly edit that one, as well.
  • I want to do my research on traditional publishing versus self-publishing, and make a decision as to which one I want to do—and start preparing for it, hopefully with one of the two novels I mentioned above.

Those are the main ones.  I don’t have any particular reading goals, except to read a lot.  There are a few other goals, however, including some school related ones…

  • Do well on my school work.  I’m in my junior year, and I want it to count.
  • Finish up my drivers ed course and get my driver’s license.
  • Perhaps figure out what I’m going to do concerning college and whatnot.
  • Keep up in my German homework…at least do a little every day, including over the weekends.  If possible.
  • Exercise more.  I want to be able to do some every single day, but I don’t know if I can reasonably expect myself to do that, so at least several times a week.
  • Work on my self-esteem.  ’Nuf said.

And so…there it is.

Say, Kiwi, still need that link? Heheh.

46 thoughts on “New Years, Anniversaries, and Stuff Like That

  1. No link, but did you really have to post it when I wasn’t able to read it? D: I had to go to bed, and then I was like, let’s just check WordPress… And then I couldn’t comment. Hehe.

    Yeah, it’s been a slow year for me too, as well. Just… I don’t know. Now that I think about it more, it almost feels like most of the year was spend on procrastination. Very productive.

    Yes! Keep up with German. I’m doing it with you. I lowered my goal, and got 20XP yesterday, but that’s the start of a streak I really want to carry on. Oh, and I also wrote! Even though it was only 179 or so words, I was horribly busy yesterday, and I’m just glad that I started the streak! 😀

    This year seems to have gone in an upwards slope, no? Despite, ah, Shimean, but still. Who knows, perhaps they coming back could be the highlight of another year? 🙂

    Anyway, have a great new year!

    1. At least I posted it before you got in bed. 😛

      Hehe, yeah. The second half of the year was much more productive, but the first half did feel a lot like procrastination.

      Awesome on both! I wrote yesterday, and I also started up my own streak on German yesterday… I should continue on that today. I think I’m tuckered out with the writing, though. And I was going to start editing Oracular today! Oh gosh. I was actually going to start editing today…

      That’d be awesome, but I doubt it. If Shimean ever comes back, it’ll take more than just one year for it to happen. As mush as I adore them, I know what they did to my writing, and I know that in order for them to come back and actually go somewhere seriously, I have to give myself enough time to truly distance myself. And that, I’m really rather sure, is going to take several years.

      You too, Kiwi! 😀

      1. 😛

        For me, the whole year felt like procrastination. And when I did actually do something, there isn’t really any novelty left when I remember what I HAVEN’T done.

        YOU REALLY NEED TO START THAT STREAK UP AGAIN, SHIM! 😀 Erg, the opposite for me. Although I think the reason is, I don’t know where to go with the retelling… YAY YAY YAY

        Mmm, I understand.

        🙂

  2. Happy late new year and writing anniversary! 😀

    Driver’s license? O.o

    Anyway, WRITE SHIM WRITE
    AND EDIT
    AND RESEARCH
    AND EVERYTHING ELSE
    RIGHT NOW
    DON’T BOTHER TO REPLY FIRST 😛

      1. You’re welcome! ☺

        O.o I don’t think I would ever trust myself behind the wheel of a car. Well…GO DO DRIVING STUFF THAT I HAVE ABSOLUTELY NO KNOWLEDGE OF

        NOOOOOO WHYYYYY

        1. Really? Heheh. That’s why you take Drivers Ed, Peace, to learn the stuff. Did you know that it’s illegal to make a U-turn on a one-way road? There’s actually a law against it. At least, there is out where I live.

          ’CAUSE I FELT LIKE IT

        2. Yay! 😀
          …I just remembered that I drove a boat when I was around six-ish. And my sister did to, and she was like three. Why would they trust us? O.o

          WHY ISN’T THERE A REASON

        3. WHY NOT?

          Ohhhh yeah, about that. I ended up introducing this weird plot twist, and then never really connect it, so it’s sitting in this one little scene all by its lonesome, and then it started getting… well, there was too much shippiness and not enough excitingness and I got bored. (Yes, there is such thing as too much shippiness when it starts to bore me, the writer. I’m sure you may disagree, but, eh.) So I stopped writing it again.

        4. BECAUSE THAT DOESN’T MAKE ANY SENSE

          Mmm…probably not, but…let’s see. Remember Elias? Well, I introduced another character, Eileen. And then I introduced another one, Ethan. And then I declared that Elias, Eileen, Ethan, and Estella are all siblings and they’re…aliens or something? I don’t know, I didn’t really figure it out very well. And unlike Elias and Eileen, Ethan isn’t mean to Estella, but is actually sort of nice, but he thinks Estella needs to go home, even though she doesn’t remember home and she wants to stay in the place that she does acknowledge as home, with her adoptive parents and Kelsey and Joshua. And then… Joshua and Essa started getting super shippy, and…blerg.

        5. I KNOW
          I’M CONFUSING MYSELF A LOT

          Oh, hmm. Maybe you could go back to before all that, then, and try to rewrite it? And is there anything conflicting with the shippiness? ‘Cause that could help. I dunno…

        6. Peace

          WELLLL…WHY DID YOU SAY THAT

          But cyborgs are interesting too! Plus you have to write the cyborg story soon. 😀

Have anything to share?

