Updates and Whatnot

I’ve been struggling lately with blog posts, mostly because any time I think of something to post about, I then think, “Nah, why would anybody want to read that?” and then I don’t post anything.  But really, since when did I post things that were particularly all that interesting?  If I was that interesting, I’d probably have more followers.

Ha!  As if I’m in this for the followers.  I don’t even know why I’m doing this.  I guess because I got bored a few years ago and thought, “Hey, let’s make a blog.”

So, really truly, I have this blog to talk about writing.  So I’m going to talk about writing, and if I do it in the most boring fashion ever, well, then, I can say I succeed at being a bore.  I’m doing this for myself more than anything anyway, I think.

With that all out of the way, I suppose this post is mostly an update on my writing and such.

First off, sometime since January 1st, I decided that I was going to set a goal of trying to write about 200 words every single day.  It’s a very small amount, but that’s the point of it.  Even on busy days, I can write that much early in the mornings, so I know I can do it every day.  Of course, that doesn’t mean I won’t try to write more.  However, having such a small goal makes it easier to feel accomplished each day, no matter how much or how little I’ve written.

Yesterday, I wrote almost 3k, and it was awesome.  Especially since I didn’t even realize I’d had that much until I sat back and glanced at my word-count.  Today, on the other hand, I’ve written only roughly 250 words, yet I still feel accomplished.  I wrote, and I met my goal, and I’m satisfied.  I’ll still write more tonight, but if I feel I need to do something else for the evening, I know I can.

I guess what it is is that I can easily make my goal, which means I can spend my day doing more than just writing.  That’s especially good for school days, when I don’t even have the whole day to get done everything I want to get gone.

So, there.  I have a little bar on the right side of the page of my consecutive days of writing, starting January 1st.  My hope is that that bar will never drop down back to zero even once this year.  I have no clue if that is a far-fetched goal, but I will do my best to make it there.  And if I don’t make it…

This gif amuses me way too much.

 

Anyway.  On another note, I’ve started editing my NaNoWriMo novel, Oracular.  Well, ish.  (There’s another bar on the right side tracking my progress, in case anyone’s curious.)  I haven’t actually edited a single thing in the novel yet.  What I am doing, however, is basically being my own alpha reader.

At the moment, I’m reading the novel, start to finish, and taking notes on it.  My thoughts on a character’s reaction to something, notes on places where the world-building is thin, questions whose answers could prompt changes in later parts, and all that stuff.  When I’ve gotten all the way to the end, then I’ll start sorting through things.  I have a lot of world-building ahead of me, because I realized I had holes all over the place.  My magic system I didn’t even begin to touch on, and that really shows, and I have things like characters righting things down on paper even though I specifically noted that trees are sparse enough in this country that they can’t make paper, particularly not for everyday use.

Yeah, that makes a lot of sense.

Once I have a more solid world to build on, I’m going to have to sort out my characters.  I had five viewpoint characters, and it was a struggle to balance it—a struggle that I failed miserably.  One character had roughly fourteen narrated chapters, while another had four or five.  Scrivener has a handy Collections thing that I can use to sort out the different narrated chapters, and I’ll be sorting out each character’s arc and better balancing the chapters.

After I’m done with that, I don’t even know.  To get to this part, I’m pretty sure I’ll be rewriting most of the beginning, at the very least.  Hopefully I won’t have to rewrite much of the middle, and I don’t even know with the ending.  That will probably get rewritten mostly, as well, though I’ll know better when I finish reading it.

Maybe by that point, I’ll be willing to let someone else read the novel.  (Hello, Peace.)

Anyway, so that’s where I am for now.  I’m feeling confident, if a tad bit overwhelmed.

46 thoughts on “Updates and Whatnot

  1. YOU’RE NOT BORING!!!!!!!!!!! At least call yourself less interesting. 🙂
    That’s a really good resolution. That means by the end of the year, you’ll have 73000 words written at the very least. Keep up the good work.
    I love that GIF it’s the best.
    GOOD LUCK!

    1. Hehe, thank you. I admit, I do have a habit of insulting myself when it isn’t necessarily true.

      Really? Well, 73k sounds like a great amount for a bare minimum for the year, I think. Of course, more than that would be even more awesome, but we’ll see.

      Isn’t it? Heheh.

      THANKS.

  2. Good post – my goodness if I followed your thought process I would never post anything!! Your posts are very interesting and you should use my approach – just post it!!

  3. YOU AREN’T BORING YOUR POSTS AREN’T BORING YOUR WRITING ISN’T BORING YOU ARE FANTASTIC YOUR POSTS ARE GREAT YOUR WRITING IS BRILLIANT. OH AND THAT GIF IS EXCELLENT.

    Ahem. My writing streak disappeared after two days. I don’t know what to write. Maybe I should take a break from the retelling, but I want to write it. I just don’t know how, and what to do with the rewrite. Maybe I should just write a short story, or work on another project. Anything to start up another streak.

    Anyway. Being your own alpha reader sounds good. Maybe I need to do that, as well. Those are all important things to think about, especially with the viewpoints. Another thing I should think about, as well.

    Hehe, unable to make paper? Now that’s interesting. See? You do understand a lot about your world.

    1. Aww, fiddlesticks! I failed at being a bore. Must try harder.

      Short story would be good. ’Specially since you owe me one. 😛 I’d say, if you’re stuck on the retelling, maybe what you need to do is take a break from it? I didn’t touch Oracular for the entire month of December, and now going back to it, it makes it so much easier. So I’d say try to something different? Remember, you can always ramble/brainstorm at me, too.

      Yup, yup.

      No, that’s the point! I’ve got to figure all of that stuff out, ’cause I don’t know it… Erg. I really do have a problem with the paper, though. Paper doesn’t fit into the world, but the world is way too advanced to still be writing on clay tablets or something, I think…so I think I might have to completely make something up that doesn’t exist. Eh. Or maybe do some research and find something out there.

        1. Level up. Heheh.

          *waits for when you get twenty minutes* I notice you didn’t ask why I said you owed me a short story.

          Fruit that grows on trees, that don’t grow in this country, which is exactly why they can’t make paper?
          Hehe, actually, I might make up some sort of plant that’s adapted to the weather and they can make things out of, or something… I don’t know, we’ll see. I’m not worrying about that part yet.

  4. Aw, you should write what you enjoy writing because I bet there are a lot of people that might like your blog posts more than you think. I personally love when bloggers post updates on their writing or talk about their writing processes. I’m also editing my novel, and for the first time. I was really scared of editing at first, and while my first draft is pretty horrible, editing has been more fun than I thought it would be.

  5. I’m gonna beat you at being a bore ’cause I can’t actually imagine you being boring. 😛

    3k! I should probably be expecting that much from you and Kiwi by now, but still.

    Being your own alpha reader sounds fun, and also really helpful. I should do that…if I even reach editing. 😛

    You might not have to balance out your viewpoints…In Cinder it was like mostly one character but a few chapters of another character and I don’t think it had to be balanced. 😀

    HELLO

    1. I can’t imagine you being boring, either, so you don’t have an advantage over me.

      Hehe, after November? Yes, you probably should.

      It’s actually not as fun as I wanted it to be. Gosh, this novel is so slow. I’m still barely past half-way, and I started reading it on like the 2nd.
      Don’t worry, you’ll get to the editing stage some day. If it’s encouraging, I’m four years older than you and I’m only now really getting into serious editing.

      Mmm… well, did the other characters have full character-arcs? I’m not balancing for the sake of balancing, I’m balancing so that I know all of them have character arcs that are smooth, and actually existent. Right now, Iaelie has a character arc, and I can pretend Kalvias has one, but Tiri, Ereinne, and Meriela? Nope, nope, nope. But they all need one.

      HI.

      1. Do to! I’m definitely still more boring than you. 😀

        O.o Or probably try to…

        That means you’re getting a lot done if it’s going slowly, though, right? And thanks. 😀

        Ohhhh, that makes sense. Well, that hopefully won’t be too hard.

        HI-‘LO/HIGH-LOW

        1. Nope, I don’t believe you.

          Hehe.

          Eh, not really. I read a bunch of it this morning, so I’m almost done now. (I think that means the last half is more exciting than the first half…hehe.) Then I will really get to start editing.

          Yeah, hopefully.

          MIDDLE

        2. Nice try, but…no.

          You can see the one that you think is the most likely future from your perspective. But from my perspective, a different future might be the “most likely” one. Therefore, because it’s all a matter of perspective, no future is more “most likely” than another.

Have anything to share?

