The “Would You Rather?” Book Tag

I got a book tag!  I’m not sure I’ve had a book tag before.  Thank you, Katie!

So, a bunch of…sort of random questions to answer!  Yay!

1. Read only trilogies or stand-alones?

That’s a hard question.  Um.  I don’t know?  I think I’ll say trilogies, because I like to spend more time with characters if I can?  But I really don’t know.

2. Read only female or male authors?

This is probably the hardest question in the whole tag.  I never care so much about the gender of the author—if it’s a good book, I’ll read it.  (I can’t say I haven’t noticed that there seem to be more fairy tale retellings written by female authors.  Shannon Hale, Jessica Day George, Marissa Meyer.  Either they’re all female or they all have feminine pen names.)

So since I don’t think I’m allowed to skip out of the question, I’ll say female because if I picked male, I wouldn’t be able to read anything I myself wrote, and then how would I finish editing?

3. Shop at Barnes & Noble or Amazon?

That’s easy.  I haven’t been to Barnes & Noble in years, so I’m good with shopping only at Amazon.  Actually, I don’t think I’ve bought a physical book in…a long time.  That’s really sad.  No wait, there was that one random book at that yardsale.  That’s still sad.

4. All books become movies or TV shows?

Originally I was going to say TV shows, but another blogger pointed out that it depends on the books.  Some books would make better movies—tell the whole story in one two-hour sitting.  Other books would make better TV shows with a new 45-minute episode each week.  I’m sure there are some books out there that probably should stay in book-format for forever.  Not that I can think of any, but maybe they exist.

Anyway, I’m going to say TV shows and hope that that includes mini-series and that whoever is making these knows how to make good TV shows.

5. Read 5 pages per day or 5 books per week?

Five pages per day would mean I’d end up being bored with nothing to do because I can’t read or I’d be really, really super busy, and if I’m too busy to read more than five pages…?  I’ll go with five books per week.

6. Be a professional reviewer or author?

Author.  Don’t even have to think about it.  I’m not very good at book reviews.

7. Only read your top 20 favorite books over and over or always read new ones that you haven’t read before?

Er…that’s a slightly harder one.  When I was younger, I disliked reading books because I knew what was to come, but nowadays, I do like to reread.  Still, I think probably only read new ones

8. Be a librarian or book seller?

I think I’d say librarian.

9. Only read your favorite genre, or every genre except your favorite?

Is this a trick question?  I think this is a trick question.  It must be a trick question.  I’d only read my favorite genre—which is fantasy, incase the whole “magical words” thing in my header wasn’t a clue.  I still actually mostly only read my favorite genre.  Hey, I’m working on it.  Slowly.  Super slowly, but still.

I know reading out of my comfort zone is important, but… I think I’ll say reading within my favorite genre.  Besides, fantasy has subgenres up the wazoo, so I’d still have a little taste of everything.

10. Only read physical books or eBooks?

Lately, I’ve only been able to read ebooks, so I really don’t have a problem with reading them.  And they are more convenient.  Still, I think I’ll say physical books because… I love to hold the books and feel them and actually turn the pages.

3 thoughts on “The “Would You Rather?” Book Tag

Have anything to share?

