Beautiful People: Sibling…sort of Rivalry

Since my WIP mostly involves two brothers and a sister, I thought I’d dig out the Beautiful People: Sibling Edition questions from a few months ago and do a character interview with the three of them.

Hopefully they’ll be more informative than the last time I tried to do the sibling questions.  I doubt they’ll be cooperative, though.

1. What is the first memory you have of each other?

Dazant: I remember Cev’s birth, more or less, although it’s hazy. Well, I mean, his infancy.  Ki, I think… I don’t know, something when we were really little.  Before the orphanage.

Kivessa: Daz and I stole some candies from one of the orphanage staff, but we got caught, and had to give the candies back.  I was so disappointed, Daz went back and got me a lollipop.

Dazant: You remember that?  You were like…four.

Ceveth: I kind of remember when we left the orphanage.  Ish.  Mostly I remember being confused and hurt that we had to leave.

Dazant: There was a reason we did that.

Ceveth: I know that, I just mean I didn’t then.  I was four?  Five?

2. Describe your relationship in 3 words.

Dazant: Um.

Ceveth: Complementary?

Kivessa: Um.

Ceveth: Nope, never mind.  Uh…

Kivessa: How about we don’t use words?  *presses her fist into her other palm threateningly and glares at the boys*

Ceveth: Hey!  What’s that for?

Kivessa: I’m just kidding.  I don’t think we can really express it in three words.  We each have our ridiculous, obnoxious quirks and flaws, but we are a team.  Although we could be better.  *glares at Dazant again*

Dazant: *ignores her*

3. What kind of things do you like to do together?

Kivessa: You mean what we already do together?  We broke into a bank once.

Dazant: You sound like it’s a fun and useless hobby, Ki.

Ceveth: *winces* It kind of is a hobby for Ki.

Dazant: *sigh*

Kivessa: So?

Dazant: You don’t even care about the morals that come with being thieves, do you?

Ceveth: *absently fiddles with his bionic ear, and the other two wince*

Dazant: Let’s go onto the next question, please?

4. What was your biggest fight?

Ceveth: You mean, what is their biggest fight?  They don’t stop fighting.

Dazant & Kivessa: *flat look*

Dazant: Actually, the fighting was really bad right after…

Kivessa: After…

Ceveth: You can just say the accident.  You two wince about it more than I do.

*silence*

5. How far would you go to save each other?

Dazant: As far as I have to.

Kivessa: *scoffs*  Like making our lives miserable and stuff.  Yeah, really trying your hardest to save us, Daz.  I appreciate it so much.

Dazant: Don’t you even—!

Ceveth: *interrupts loudly* We all have to work together to keep each other safe, and I think we’d all do whatever it takes to keep us a team.

6. What are you pet peeves about each other?

Kivessa: Everything.

Ceveth: *tries to not groan*

Dazant: *sighs*  Let’s not worry about this question so much.

7. What are your favorite things about each other?

Dazant: When Kivessa isn’t purposefully trying to get on my nerves—*glares more*—she can give some good advice, and she does know how to look after herself.  Sometimes.

Kivessa: Daz, you—*sighs*  The same, I guess.  I know he is looking out for Cev and me, even if sometimes he acts foolish.

Ceveth: Um.  *kind of hides in background*  I—I don’t really know?  I don’t think I know either of them well enough to really… *trails off*

8. What traits do you share? Mannerisms, clothing, quirks, looks, etc?

Kivessa: Clothes?  Eep, no, thank you.  Neither of them have any sense of style.  I mean, okay, they do at least wear jeans, but…they make it look sloppy.

Ceveth: *kind of speechless*

Dazant: *rolls his eyes*

Kivessa: *attempts to flip her hair stylishly but just looks kind of goofy*

Ceveth: *still speechless*

Dazant: Cev and I look a lot alike.  If I recall, we also both look a lot like our mother.

Kivessa: Your frowns are almost identical.  It’s actually kind of creepy.

Ceveth: *blinks*

9. Who has the strongest personality?

*a long silence*

Ceveth: Not me, that’s for sure.

Dazant: Ki, I guess?

10. How does your relationship change throughout your story?

Dazant: Supposedly, we’ll all grow closer and actually learn to truly complement one another.  But since we’re still in chapter two as of the writing of this post, nothing much has changed yet.


Yeah, that basically went how I expected it to.  Unfortunately, the problem with this is that all I really got was the tension between Kivessa and Dazant, and poor Ceveth is hardly even here.  I think I’ll have to get them by themselves in some more interviews.

Have anything to share?

